14th Annual Signature Luncheon


Join us for the 14th Annual Signature Luncheon held on October 19, 2017, 12:00 p.m., at the Joseph A. Floreano Rochester Riverside Convention Center. Celebrate with us as we honor Rochester's outstanding volunteers for their advocacy, commitment to reducing poverty, and building a stronger community. Come hear our keynote speaker, Dr. Heidi MacphersonPresident of The College at Brockport State University of New York and become a part of changing lives forever.  

During the luncheon, four volunteers will be commemorated with these very prestigious awards. Click here to purchase ticket/s.

The Signature Citizen of the Year Award was launched in 2001 to give special recognition to a community member who, through professional work and volunteerism, has fostered opportunities to help improve the quality of life for people in Monroe and Ontario Counties. This year’s award will be given to Bill Destler and Rebecca Johnson for their commitment to education. Bill and Rebecca are the founders of the Destler-Johnson Rochester City Scholars initiative. Since its founding in 2010, the program has awarded more than 120 students with full tuition scholarships to Rochester Institute of Technology. This fall the Destler-Johnson Rochester City Scholars initiative welcomed its largest class of 32 students. 

The James M. McCuller Award for Excellence first given in 1994, was created to recognize individuals who exemplify the attributes demonstrated by the late James McCuller, former ABC Executive Director.  He believed in constantly striving to improve himself and those he served. This year's award winner is Dr. Janice Harbin for her years of service to the community and commitment to introducing creative alternatives to help underserved families improve their health. Harbin serves as the president and chief executive officer of Jordan Health. 

Since 1984 the Lena M. Gantt Distinguished Community Service Award has been presented to honor an individual whose record of dedicated community service bests reflects the life work of Lena M. Gantt a devoted community advocate. This year's honoree is Zola Brown for her extensive efforts to advocate for social and economic justice. Brown serves as a Manager Field Rep for 1199 SEIU. A second generation union activist, Brown is dedicated to assisting economically disadvantaged community members.

The Elliott Landsman Head Start Community Volunteer Award observes a Head Start community volunteer whose leadership and commitment to our mission embodies the extraordinary support and passion of Elliott Landsman. This year Ahmon Bryant will be recognized. Bryant is the founder and director of Sharp Edgez Barber Institute and has provided on-site services to Head Start children and families while promoting literacy and phonemic awareness for over five years.

Click here to purchase ticket/s. For more information call or email Cherise Jordan, 585-325-5116 x4554, This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .






Purchase your ticket/s [Click here]

Become a partner today! Sponsoring ABC’s Signature Luncheon is one way businesses in our community can sustain the agency’s work to help people help themselves.  The event is attended by 500 guests and offers several attractive sponsorship opportunities to learn more, call or email Cherise Jordan, 585-325-5116 x4554, This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .


Designed & Developed By Phu Concepts